Chapter 1 Elementary

The years of elementary were for a lack of better words short and brief. As for my childhood well you’re about to find out. Let’s see where should I begin….well at this time I’m still living in the projects with my mother and my father who pretty much was away at work most of the time. A few years after my baby sister passed away, things got a little easier to adapt to. Although I didn’t know the facts of life and death I was used to not seeing her around, and my mother not holding her or feeding her. At times I would cry or shed a tear because I did miss her. I remember seeing my mother shed a few tears every time I or my brothers would mention my sister. But like I mentioned things did get easier. My time spent in the Perry Projects as a child were simple. I played with my brothers and the other kids in the area and got dirty and argued a lot. as I got older around the ripe age of 5yrs I learned how to fight. Well that’s what I called it anyway. We pretty much just hugged and see who can get dizzy and fall to the ground first. And yes as light in the ass as I was I fell first most of the time. But I learned to throw my opponent off balance with their weight and made them fall first. I “fought” a lot. I even fought for my brothers as well. Especially my little brother because he always ran off his mouth and didn’t care who he was talking to. But anyway getting back to the story, I did have fun. My grandmother stayed around the corner from us s we would go visit her very often. I remember when we got out of school, we would go over there and she would always give us snacks. That was always my favorite reason for going over there, I also enjoyed going because the other people that stayed in that apartment were crazy. As a young child I would see the neighbors over there and some of them wouldn’t have any teeth and they smelled like liquor and cigarettes and other things. I would ask my mom what happened to there teeth and my mom said it happens with old age. I would think hell I don’t want to get old then. My mom would always say that the smell of the liquor was there happy juice or the medicine that they were taking. I don’t ever want to take medicine either. In those years from 5-8 living in the Perry Projects I have seen a lot of drug use and the effects that drugs has on people. Obviously, I didn’t know at the time but now I realize that’s what it was. One of  the biggest secrets I ever kept from my family was that I saw one of the next door neighbors in my apartment complex sucking dick on the stairwell in the hallway right outside of our door. As a child I had no clue what was going on. I just stood there and watched as they kept going and wondering why she was moaning and the guy had his head down and his hands were in her hair and his mouth was wipe open. Next thing I know she had this look on her face like she couldn’t breathe, and then something white came out of her mouth. I just remember being scared for her and then I see her wiping her mouth and smiling. then for some reason she toward our apartment because out door was cracked open with the chain locked so it was only opened just a little bit to allow air through. And as she looked toward the door I seen her face and realized she was the mother of the girl that I liked. My eyes got big as hell, but of course like I said I never said anything to anybody, including the girl I liked. Well as time passed on I seen many crazy things, heard crazy things and did crazy things. I don’t remember having to many bbq’s and family reunions and things like that. Our Christmas, well living in the projects should pretty much tell you how are holidays were. We made toys out of anything. Pick up something glued it together and called it a toy. We made due with what we had. We had each other and we had our mom and my grandmother. My mom even though she really didn’t have money and could barely feed us, she made sure we ate first before she did. If we didn’t have food she would send us over to my grandmother and she would feed us with the food she had. We had rice pretty much most of the time with bologna and ketchup, and a piece of bread or whatever we had. But we go to bed hungry but at times i felt bad because I knew that my mom did. In todays society you might say we were bums because our clothes were passed down from brother to brother, and sometimes they won’t fit properly or they looked dirty. But through all that time we managed to make it threw with each other despite the knockdowns my family took from strangers, racist people or people who just tried to take what little we had, we made it through. The greatest memory I had living in the projects, was my grandmother bought me and my little brother running shoes and my big brother a couple T-shirts. We thought we had just won the lottery or something or that maybe somebody owed us money and they paid up. But I put my sneakers on and I was happier than a pig in shit. We went outside to go play and I took a deep breath and I ran, I just ran……..

Leave a Reply

